Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 30, 2022, 10:02:06 PM
Home Help Login Register
News:

Shanky Technologies Poker Bot Support Forum  |  General Category  |  PPL Support (Moderator: sngbot)  |  Topic: Preflop - how to determine raiser / re-raiser position after bot's action 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Preflop - how to determine raiser / re-raiser position after bot's action  (Read 758 times)
PlayAcesHard
Botter
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 207


Shanky Bonus Bots Rock!


« on: June 25, 2022, 05:08:39 AM »

Still the question on how to determine whether the raiser / 3bettor after bot's action (either call or raise) is from a late position or from an early position.

Taken quote from PPL Manual:

"…now you can specify your exact starting table position anywhere in the code, on any betting round. For example later on the preflop round if you use this as part of a statement:
when raises = 1 and botslastaction = raise and (in button or UserMid3 or UserCutoff)….
...you know that you got reraised after raising from a late position, so it is more likely that the opponent is reraisng weak than if you raised from an earlier position."

The above will not be true if there is a limper in the early position (ie. UTG), then re-raised after bot's raise. Is there a way to be able to identify such a situation?

Logged
Egor
Forum Admin
Extreme Botter
*****

Karma: 375
Posts: 34761



WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2022, 05:31:36 AM »

first orbit:

when calls >= 1 and raises = 0 and (stilltoact = 2 or stilltoact = 3 or stilltoact = 4) and botslastaction = none userearlycaller

next orbit:

when botslastaction = raise and userearlycaller and raises = 1 and opponents = 1 and position = last

It could also have happened that one of the blinds reraised and the limper(s) folded but this is as close as you can get and it is essentially the same situation (facing the same type of hand and in position).



Logged

Please do not PM me about license issues or help stuff - email me or use the Help board. Thanks! -Egor
PlayAcesHard
Botter
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 207


Shanky Bonus Bots Rock!


« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2022, 12:42:31 PM »

Thanks Egor. I guess this is as close as the bot can get in terms of villain's position. Unfortunately the range of villain raise or re-raise from a late position or from the blinds will be somewhat different, particularly shows in the post-flop actions.

As for postflop, can Position variable determine whether the bot has the position to the opponent?
Logged
Egor
Forum Admin
Extreme Botter
*****

Karma: 375
Posts: 34761



WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2022, 06:14:50 PM »

Well you can certainly determine whether the reraise came from the blinds/limper or a late position! Merely by:

Position = first means the reraise came from a late position

Position = last means the reraise came from a blinds/early position.

I do not think you are understanding this yet. To identify position on the first preflop orbit use stilltoact =

...and set a user-variable if desired.

Starting from the second preflop orbit, and any subsequent, and for all post-flop betting rounds, use position = to identify your position at the table to your remaining opponents.
Logged

Please do not PM me about license issues or help stuff - email me or use the Help board. Thanks! -Egor
PlayAcesHard
Botter
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 207


Shanky Bonus Bots Rock!


« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2022, 03:59:08 PM »

 wow great thanks Egor. I thought Position is relative position where if there is an action happened, and the bot is the first one to act next (regardless of it's position on the table) then it's I position first. For example, if BB reraised, bot is UTG, then bot's position is first. But I think I got it wrong, Position is for the absolute position relative to oppoenent. So Position should be always Last in my example where BB reraises and the bot is UTG. Do I understand it correctly now?
Logged
Egor
Forum Admin
Extreme Botter
*****

Karma: 375
Posts: 34761



WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2022, 06:09:42 PM »

Maybe!

 party

Position = is a general poker term used in poker books and articles, and we use it the same way in PPL. It is your position relative to the dealer button and your remaining opponents.

It is not relevant on the first preflop betting round, and therefore doesn't work then. It comes into being starting the second preflop betting round (if there is one) and remains through the rest of the hand.
Logged

Please do not PM me about license issues or help stuff - email me or use the Help board. Thanks! -Egor
DroneProbe
zeros
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 17


« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2022, 07:27:33 AM »

It is not relevant on the first preflop betting round, and therefore doesn't work then. It comes into being starting the second preflop betting round (if there is one) and remains through the rest of the hand.

Hello Egor! Love the default profiles Smiley The MMT is for me a little too eager to go all in on random hands which has cost a couple "money" positions in MTTs but thats where PPL comes in!

Now I may have misunderstood your statement so please correct me if I have.

One of the earliest strategies I ever learned and tuned for NLH is totally reliant on position with the range opening up the later in position you are in and tightening up again as the table loops around and you move into early positions.

If I understand you correctly... lets see if I can give an example so you can see what I mean.

1 - Dealer deals the cards. I am on the Big Blind.
2 - I look at my cards AA
3 - 3 people call before me, rest fold
4 - My usual move is to then raise by multiplying the number of calls before me by the big blind amount

So if I understand you correctly I won't be able to give the bot that sort of instruction?
Logged
Egor
Forum Admin
Extreme Botter
*****

Karma: 375
Posts: 34761



WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2022, 07:33:08 AM »

Of course you can. Simply add a calls = condition

The situation you described is:

When inBigBlind and botsactionsonthisround = 0 and hand = AA and raises = 0 and calls = 3
Logged

Please do not PM me about license issues or help stuff - email me or use the Help board. Thanks! -Egor
DroneProbe
zeros
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 17


« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2022, 11:42:25 AM »

Of course you can. Simply add a calls = condition

The situation you described is:

When inBigBlind and botsactionsonthisround = 0 and hand = AA and raises = 0 and calls = 3

Thank you sir! One more thing that is not quite clear to me.

Would this:

Code:
When inBigBlind and botsactionsonthisround = 0 and hand = AA and raises = 0 and calls = 3 raise 3 force   


Result in the bot raising by 3 BB?                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             
Logged
Egor
Forum Admin
Extreme Botter
*****

Karma: 375
Posts: 34761



WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2022, 06:05:23 PM »

Correct!  beer

 party
Logged

Please do not PM me about license issues or help stuff - email me or use the Help board. Thanks! -Egor
Pages: [1] Print 
Shanky Technologies Poker Bot Support Forum  |  General Category  |  PPL Support (Moderator: sngbot)  |  Topic: Preflop - how to determine raiser / re-raiser position after bot's action
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!