Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 01, 2023, 08:11:07 PM
Home Help Login Register
News:

Shanky Technologies Poker Bot Support Forum  |  General Category  |  PPL Support (Moderator: sngbot)  |  Topic: Simple position coding question from someone new 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Simple position coding question from someone new  (Read 3011 times)
240788
Wide-Eyed Newbie
*

Karma: 2
Posts: 2


« on: November 16, 2012, 04:49:37 AM »

I am new to PPL.
This has to be simple.
I wish to define all my actions in preflop according to my position relative to the button.

What I want to be able to do is saying something like - for the entire preflop betting cycle.
If [table has nine players] AND [I am in the first three to the left of the button] Then [Action list]
If [table has nine players] AND [I am in second three to left of the button] Then [Action list]
etc

I understand that I need to use StillToAct in some way, but from what I read that variable will set itself to zero once the betting comes back to me.
So if I define a user variable like this:

when (opponentsattable=8) AND ((stilltoact=8)or(stilltoact=7)) UserEarly

UserEarly will only be set the firsttime the betting comes to me - the next time stilltoact will equal 0 and so UserEarly will be false.

This seems so simple to define in English - " In preflop if I am three to left of the button I will behave in this way, etc" but not so easy for me to work out how to code.

Any help would be very very gratefully received.
Logged
Egor
Forum Admin
Extreme Botter
*****

Karma: 378
Posts: 35088



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2012, 05:41:11 AM »

Quote
UserEarly will only be set the firsttime the betting comes to me - the next time stilltoact will equal 0 and so UserEarly will be false.

Incorrect.

You misunderstand the user-variable function.

The entire purpose of the user-variable is to define a situation for use later in the hand. Once set, it remains true for the rest of the hand.
Logged

Please do not PM me about license issues or help stuff - email me or use the Help board. Thanks! -Egor
peamasii
Super Botter
Serious Botter
****

Karma: 18
Posts: 519


Dream of a perfect bot!


« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2012, 01:14:46 PM »

I do something like this on the first orbit, so I will know on subsequent betting rounds where I am:
Code:
When BotsActionsOnThisRound = 0 and OpponentsAtTable = 9
when stilltoact = 9 User_BotUTG
when stilltoact = 8 User_BotUTG1
when stilltoact = 7 User_BotEP
when stilltoact = 6 User_BotEP1
when stilltoact = 5 User_BotMP
when stilltoact = 4 User_BotHI
when stilltoact = 3 User_BotCO
When (User_BotUTG or User_BotUTG1 or User_BotEP)  and OpponentsAtTable >= 7
When StillToAct >= 5 and BotsActionsOnThisRound = 0 and raises = 0 User_BotEnteredEarly
When BotsLastAction = call and User_BotEnteredEarly User_BotLimpedEarly
When BotsLastAction = raise and User_BotEnteredEarly User_BotRaisedEarly
// unopened or limped pots
When raises = 0 and BotsActionsOnThisRound = 0
When calls = 0 User_BotEnteredFirst
When calls > 0 User_BotEnteredPostlimp
Logged
240788
Wide-Eyed Newbie
*

Karma: 2
Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 11:31:37 PM »

Many thanks peamasii and Egor - much appreciated.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
Shanky Technologies Poker Bot Support Forum  |  General Category  |  PPL Support (Moderator: sngbot)  |  Topic: Simple position coding question from someone new
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!